Rest:Review:Refocus:Ramore

So this week has been spent on two staff retreats.  The first one was led by Ken Newell at Drumalis Retreat Centre in Larne for all our staff in Carnmoney.  The day was structured around three main sessions. REST / REVIEW / REFOCUS.  I’m not really the contemplative type.  I prefer multi-media presentations, smoke machines, lights and loud music!  But these two days comprised none of those things and I loved it.  Ken’s ability to slow us down and encourage us as a team was superb.  He just has the kind of humble presence and authority that makes you want to listen to every word..

“Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  Jesus

It is brilliant to receive this invitation from God and be able to pass it on.  The following day the interns and I headed up the north coast to unwind and retreat.  Hollie and David have been a great team this year and we really enjoyed getting some time away to reflect on God’s hand upon our lives.  I stole Ken Newell’s “rest/review and refocus” structure but felt compelled to add an additional R – Ramore Wine Bar !  (tobacco onions for me please..)

These times are so crucial to get perspective and refreshment.  Note to self- do this more often!

Leave a Reply

