The Gospel According To… Mumford

Every now and again I hear something on the radio that makes me want to stop in my tracks and yell ‘YES’ at the top of my voice.  This usually happens on a Saturday afternoon when I realise that Sunderland are destroying United or that Rafa hasn’t rotated …

Recently however I heard Mumford and Sons sing these words

It was not your fault but mine

and it was your heart on the line

I really “messed” it up this time
(radio edit/live lounge/bad word edited/
you know what the unedited version says)


I wanted to yell ‘yes’ at the top of my voice because I connected with the raw honesty of these words as an accurate communication of the gospel message
We all have ‘messed it up’, it’s totally our fault but Jesus places His heart on the line by dying in our place on the cross. There’s real integrity in these words by  Mumford that’s too often lacking in our worship songs, songs which rarely mention the fact that we are seriously ‘messed up’ by sin. I grew up singing that I should be ‘in right – out right – up right – down right – happy all the time’ because Jesus had come into my life but very rarely did I sing with honesty that I had screwed up.

Mumford & Sons have forcefully reminded me of the heart of the gospel and I pray that more worship leaders and song writers will follow their example.

2 Corinthians 5:21
God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

1 thought on “The Gospel According To… Mumford”

  1. I heard this on Saturday afternoon too! Great song, great lyrics and a great a great illustration! Thanks Michael!

Leave a Reply

